DUI & DWI in Wisconsin
If you or a loved one has been arrested for drunk driving on Wisconsin roadways, you’ll be glad to know that most Wisconsin DUI attorneys offer a free case analysis. You can find a Wisconsin DUI or OWI defense attorney at www.attorneys.org.
In addition, this article nutshells:
- Wisconsin DUI Laws
- Wisconsin DUI Punishments
- Potential DUI Defenses
- Wisconsin’s Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find a Wisconsin DUI – OWI Attorney
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Wisconsin?
The Wisconsin Statutes contain Wisconsin’s drunk driving laws.
In the state of Wisconsin,you’re breaking the law if you’re a:
- Non-commercial driver and your BAC (blood alcohol content) is .08 or higher.
- Commercial driver and your BAC is .04 or higher.
- Under age 21 driver and there is any sign of alcohol in your system (zero tolerance).
Keep in mind that you can be arrested for DUI or OWI even if your BAC doesn’t meet these levels. If your driving is impaired by any amount of alcohol or drugs, you cannot legally drive.
What is Wisconsin’s Punishment for DUI Convictions?
1st Offense – fines of $150 to $300 – driver’s license suspension for 6 to 9 months — loss of commercial driver’s license – punishments significantly increased for “higher” BAC’s and/or having a child under the age of 16 in your car.*
2nd Offense within 10 Years – jail time of 5 days to 6 months – fines of $350 to $1,100 – 1 year to 18 months – loss of commercial driver’s license – ignition interlock – punishments significantly increased for “higher” BAC’s and/or having a child under the age of 16 in your car.*
3rd Offense within 10 years – jail time of 30 days up to 1 year – fines of $600 to $2,000 – driver’s license revoked for 2 to 3 years – loss of commercial driver’s license – ignition interlock- punishments significantly increased for “higher” BAC’s and/or having a child under the age of 16 in your car.*
*DUI penalties may be different in Winnebago County.
Wisconsin Drunk Driving Defenses
During your case analysis, your DUI defense attorney will collect facts and start to analyze potential defenses.
This list illustrates potential DUI defenses:
- Mistakes at trial.
- Mistakes during the original traffic stop.
- Mistakes in evidence collection.
- Mistakes in evidence evaluation.
- Mistakes in evidence presentation.
Wisconsin’s Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Civil Liability Exemption
If a person or a licensed drinking establishment serves alcohol to an underage person, liability attaches for injuries to third parties.
Wisconsin’s Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons Law
It is a crime to furnish alcohol to an underage person or to allow underage persons to drink in your home. You could go to jail and pay fines.
If a licensed drinking establishment serves an underage person, the liquor license may be suspended.
Criminal Penalties for Serving Visibly Intoxicated Persons
In Wisconsin, it’s a crime to furnish alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person. If you break this law, you may serve up to 60 days in jail and pay a fine of $100 to $500.
How to Find a Wisconsin DUI Attorney
To find a Wisconsin DUI attorney and ask how a DUI lawyer can help you, search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral. You’ll get the legal help you need.