Personal Injury Law in Washington
“Do I have a case?” That’s the question every Washington personal injury attorney hears daily. The factors that determine whether you have a case include:
- Your injuries or illness
- Hospitalizations and surgeries
- Scarring and permanent injuries
- Potential for future medical problems
- Lost wages and benefits
- Who caused the accident
- Insurance coverage
Fortunately, a qualified personal injury lawyer will tell you whether you have a case or not for free.
If you or a loved one has been injured in the state of Washington, this article is meant for you. We’ll discuss:
- The kinds of cases that Washington personal injury lawyers handle.
- What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
- Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
- How to find a Washington Personal Injury Attorney.
Would a Washington Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Case?
You can check out PI attorney websites through our site, www.attorneys.org; in addition, here’s a list of the most common accidents and injuries.
- ATV, RV, car, motorcycle, truck, cruise ship, boat, ferry, golf cart, bicycle, and pedestrian.
- Cars, tools, appliances, power tools, hair dryers, vacuum cleaners, saws, machines, medications, kitchen tools, equipment, and chemicals.
- Misdiagnosis, delayed diagnosis, failure to treat, birth injuries, wrongful death, inappropriate surgery, adverse medication reactions, and mistakes in surgery.
- Injured workers may need assistance getting their benefits or filing a lawsuit if injured by a defective or mislabeled product.
- Food-borne illnesses, birth injuries, brain injuries, adverse drug reactions, scars, fractures, lacerations, broken bones, nursing home abuse injuries, burns, bruises, Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer), slip and falls injuries, dog bites, and wrongful death.
Bottom line: If you were seriously injured in the state of Washington, a Washington attorney would likely handle your type of case.If you don’t see your individual situation listed above, contact a personal injury firm and ask. The consultation is free.
How Do I Prove My Washington Personal Injury Case?
Typically, personal injury cases are based upon negligence. To prove negligence and recover for lost wages, medical bills, lost benefits, pain and suffering, loss of consortium and the like, you must prove each of the following 3 things.
- First, you need to show that the person (or company)who caused your injury had a duty to you and failed to fulfill that duty.
- Second, you need to show causation, meaning that the person’s failure to fulfill that duty hurt you.
- Third, you need to show that you suffered legal damages as a result of the harm.
Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?
- There is no fee for this immediate service. You only pay part of your proceeds if you win your case.
- Evidence disappears quickly; your lawyer’s investigators will gather and preserve it.
- Insurance companies will pressure you, ask you questions while taping you, and later use your words against you.
If you allow the statute of limitations to pass on your case, you will be forever barred from receiving financial compensation for your injuries.
Here are some example Washington statute of limitations for personal injury cases:
- Medical Malpractice is 3 years (Wash. Rev. Code В§ 4.16.350).
- Personal Injury is 3 years (Wash. Rev. Code В§ 4.16.080(2)).
- Wrongful Death is 3 years (Wash. Rev. Code В§ 4.16.080(2)).
- Property Damage is3 years (Wash. Rev. Code В§ 4.16.080(2)).
How Do I Find a Washington Personal Injury Attorney?
To find a Washington personal injury lawyer, search our site, www.attorneys.org, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral.