Personal Injury Law in Vermont
All of a sudden all of those Vermont personal injury attorney commercials, billboards, bus shelters, and benches mean something to you. If you or a loved one has been seriously injured at the hands of another, you may be considering consulting with a personal injury attorney.
That’s why we’ve written this article.
- The kinds of cases that Vermont personal injury lawyers handle.
- What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
- Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
- How to find a Vermont personal injury attorney.
Would a Vermont Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Type of Case?
You need to consult with a qualified Vermont personal injury attorney to determine whether you have an actionable case. However, here’s a list of common cases that Vermont personal injury attorneys do handle:
- Segway, truck, car, motorcycle, pedestrian, bicycle, golf cart, RV, ATV, boat, cruise line, airplane, scooter, amusement park ride, construction zone, and mass accidents.
- Defective equipment, medical equipment, tires, cars, hair dryers, power tools, medicines, vacuum cleaners, machines, appliances, kitchen tools, chemicals, etc.
- Fractures, death, birth injuries, brain injuries, dog bites, adverse drug reactions, burns, scars, lacerations, bruises, broken bones, fractures, food-borne illnesses, nursing home abuse injuries, slip and falls injuries, medical malpractice injuries, and Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer).
How Do I Prove My Vermont Personal Injury Case?
Most PI cases in Vermont are based on a negligence claim. If your individual case is a negligence case, this is what you need to show to either successfully settle your case or get a favorable jury verdict.
- Duty and Breach of Duty. The defendant had a duty to act in a certain way to you and didn’t.
- Causation. The defendant’s breach of duty caused you harm.
- Legal Damages. That harm is recoverable in the eyes of the law. Examples would be medical bills, lost wages, lost benefits, pain and suffering, and for family members, loss of consortium.
Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?
- To get good advice immediately so you don’t do or say something that would harm your case.
- To ensure evidence preservation.
- Insurance companies will try to trick you by taping phone calls and offering unfairly low settlements.
The statute of limitations must be met.
Here are some example Vermont statute of limitations for personal injury cases:
- Medical Malpractice is 3 years (12 Vt. Stat. В§ 521).
- Personal Injury is 3 years (12 Vt. Stat. В§ 512(4)).
- Wrongful Death is 2 years (14 Vt. Stat. В§ 1492).
- Property Damage is 3 years (12 Vt. Stat. В§ 512(5)).
How Do I Find a Vermont Personal Injury Attorney?
To find a Vermont personal injury lawyer, search our site, www.attorneys.org, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral.