Close Menu
Better Understand the Law
Home > New Mexico Personal Injury Law

Personal Injury Law in New Mexico

Did you know that a New Mexico personal injury attorney will:

  • Give you a free – no obligation – case evaluation?
  • Front all the expenses of investigating and proving your case, including paying expert witnesses, if needed?
  • Only get paid if he or she wins your case?

If you or a loved one has been injured in New Mexico, this article is meant for you. We’ll explain:

  • The kinds of cases that New Mexico personal injury lawyers handle.
  • What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
  • Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
  • How to find a New Mexico Personal Injury Attorney.

Would a New Mexico Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Case?

These are the types of cases personal injury lawyers take. Be sure to consult with the PI lawyer of your choice to find out if you have a case.

  • Motor Vehicle Crashes: Truck, car, motorcycle, airplane, pedestrian, bicycle, golf cart, RV, ATV, boat, cruise line, scooter, and amusement park ride accidents.

  • Defective Products Cases: Equipment, tools, chemicals, tires, medical equipment, cars, hair dryers, power tools, medicines, vacuum cleaners, machines, appliances, kitchen tools, etc.

  • Example Serious Injuries: death, dog bites, adverse drug reactions, burns, scars, lacerations, bruises, fractures, broken bones, nursing home abuse injuries, slip and falls injuries, food-borne illnesses, food poisoning injury, medical malpractice injuries, birth injuries, brain injuries, and Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer).

How Do I Prove My New Mexico Personal Injury Case?

There are 3 things you must prove in a negligence personal injury case:

  • Breach of Duty = the defendant had a duty to you and failed to act as a reasonable prudent person in that particular situation would act.
  • Causation = the defendant’s unreasonable actions or inactions caused your injury.
  • Damages = medical bills, lost wages, lost benefits, pain and suffering, and for family members, loss of consortium.

Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?

  • Other parties will call their lawyers.
  • Evidence is easily lost without professional preservation.
  • Insurance companies will pressure you, ask you questions while taping you, and later use your words against you.
  • The statute of limitations limits the time you have to file your case.

    Here are some example New Mexico statute of limitations for personal injury cases:

    • Medical Malpractice is 3 years (N.M. Stat. В§ 41-5-13).
    • Personal Injury is 3 years (N.M. Stat. В§ 37-1-8).
    • Wrongful Death is 3 years (N.M. Stat. В§ 41-2-2).
    • Property Damage is 4 years (N.M. Stat. В§ 37-1-4).

How Do I Find a New Mexico Personal Injury Attorney?

To find a New Mexico personal injury lawyer, search our site,, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral. You can find out if you have a case for free.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn