Personal Injury Law in Mississippi
If you’re researching Mississippi personal injury attorneys and you or a loved one has been seriously injured, you’ve come to the right place. This article will provide important background information that will help you ask your personal injury lawyer the right questions and get you started in the right direction.
As soon as you find and select a lawyer, you’ll be able to pass the baton, so to speak, sit back, relax, and focus on healing and planning your future.
In this article, we’ll summarize:
- The kinds of cases that Mississippi personal injury lawyers handle.
- What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
- Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
- How to find a Mississippi personal injury attorney.
Would a Mississippi Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Case?
Mississippi personal injury lawyers represent people seriously injured within the state of Mississippi. Here are examples of common personal injury cases.
Example motor vehicle cases include truck, car, motorcycle, scooter, pedestrian, bicycle, golf cart, RV, ATV, boat, airplane, cruise line, and amusement park ride accidents.
Example defective products cases include medical equipment and tools, tires, cars, systems, equipment, chemicals, hair dryers, power tools, medicines, drugs, vacuum cleaners, machines, appliances, and kitchen tools.
Example injuries include death, dog bites, adverse drug reactions, burns, scars, lacerations, fractures, brain injury, birth injury, surgical error injury, bruises, broken bones, nursing home abuse injuries, slip and falls injuries, food poisoning injury, medical malpractice injuries, and Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer).
How Do I Prove My Mississippi Personal Injury Case?
Although most personal injury cases are settled and never go to jury, you still must be able to satisfy all the elements of your case. Most PI cases are based upon negligence.
There are 3 prongs of proving negligence:
- First, you need to show that the person (or company)who caused your injury had a duty to you and failed to do so.
- Second, you need to show causation, meaning that the person’s unreasonable actions or inactions caused your injury.
- Third, you need to show medical bills, lost wages, lost benefits, pain and suffering, and for family members, loss of consortium.
Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?
- There is no upfront fee to call, get advice, and have an investigator gather evidence.
- Evidence is easily lost and is better preserved as close to the time of the accident as possible.
- Insurance companies will pounce on you; and, they are not your friends.
In addition, if you allow the statute of limitations to pass on your case, you will be forever barred from receiving financial compensation for your injuries.
Here are some example Mississippi statute of limitations for personal injury cases:
- Medical Malpractice is 2 or 7 years, depending on when the injury is discovered (Miss. Code В§ 15-1-36).
- Personal Injury is 3 years (Miss. Code В§ 15-1-49).
- Wrongful Death is 3 years (Miss. Code В§ 15-1-49).
- Property Damage is 3 years (Miss. Code В§ 15-1-49).
How Do I Find a Mississippi Personal Injury Attorney?
To find a Mississippi personal injury lawyer, search our site, www.attorneys.org, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral. You’ll feel better as soon as you hire the personal injury attorney of your choice to represent and protect you.